(previous Blogger post, February 1, 2007, Thursday)

Huh, never thought the day would come. I’m more of a prose gal. Yes, I do like reading poetry, I just can’t write it. Or so I thought, until last night. I don’t know what came over me. I was just eating dinner and suddenly I can’t wait to write the words. So I did afterwards and finished in ten minutes. Earlier, in the afternoon, I was working on a writing project. I was tasked to make a jingle for a stomach disorder drug. I thought it was going to be a drag, but to my surprise, I found it so easy. The words just flowed naturally and I finished it in less than an hour.

My muse finally woke up and decided to give me a nudge too. I don’t know if what I wrote was any good, but I don’t care. At least I did it and it wasn’t forced out of me. The only other time I clearly remember writing in verse was in a Creative Writing class back in high school. Our teacher propped up a framed picture of a rose in full bloom, moist with dew. We had to write a poem using that image as an inspiration. I can’t remember what I wrote, but I’m certain that it’s a very cheesy, corny poem, written just to fulfill a requirement. I’m glad it’s no longer the case now. My muse has had a very, very long sleep so I hope she can now stay awake for a long time.

