If you know me, or if you’ve roamed around this blog, you’ll know that I have a terrible wanderlust.  I may not always have the opportunity to sate it – and I doubt it will be fully sated in this lifetime – but it is always just beneath the surface.  While combing through the Travel section of the bookstore, I found a book entitled 1,000 Places to See Before You Die.  I was fascinated by it and thumbed through the pages.  I decided to make my own list here.  So here it is, in no particular order:

1.  The Pyramids of Giza and Nile River
2.  The Great Barrier Reef
3.  India
4.  Pyramid of the Sun, Mexico
5.  The railway connecting Tibet to mainland China (the highest railway in the world)
6.  Florence, Italy
7.  The Holy Land
8.  Ivatan stone houses in Batanes
9.  Kathmandu, Nepal
10.  Angkor Wat
11.  Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia in Barcelona
12.  Hadrian’s Wall, Scotland
13.  The Great Wall of China
14.  Stonehenge
15.  Banaue Rice Terraces
16.  Sagada
17.  Tubbataha Reef
18.  a diamond field in South Africa
19.  The Smokies, USA
20.  The Vatican
21.  A French or an Italian vineyard
22.  Dordogne, France
23.  Loire valley, France
24.  Rio de Janeiro during Carnaval
25.  Pamplona, Spain during the running of the bulls
….to be continued

I know it’s really a shot at the moon to be able to see all these, but ain’t it fun to just imagine?  I can’t complete this list in one go, so this will be a series.  Anyone who knows of interesting, off-the-beaten-track places, you’re welcome to share them with me.  We have a big earth and I would love to know more about it even if only through photos and stories. 🙂

