Something I heard on the radio made me burst out laughing – right when the office was at its quietest.  I guess I’m now the resident klutzy (tripped and almost fell in the first few minutes of my first day), nutty girl.

I forgot the radio station already, but they were giving away free tickets to something.  The caller has to supply the missing word to a proverb.  Each correct answer earns one free ticket.  I didn’t catch the start of this guy’s call, but it caught my attention because I could tell that the DJ was trying so hard not to laugh.

First proverb:  “The pen is mightier than the ___________.”  “Pencil!” said the guy in all confidence.  At least he got “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach”.

Next:  “The grass is always greener on the other side of the ________.”  Long pause.  “Yard.”

Finally:  “When the cat is away, the mouse will ______.”  Long pause.  “Wait.”

Min, this is your kind of humor.  I wish you heard this too.  Anna, remember the “three blind…ano nga ba yun…kittens?”  Hahahaha!  I don’t know if younger people are getting dumber, but just try listening to FM radio phone-in contests.  I swear it wasn’t like that when I was a teenager.  At least FM radio’s getting almost as funny as AM radio, haha!

