There are still 11 days left before the end of August, yet I feel like I should declare this as my personal ‘Friendship Month’.  In these past 20 days, I’ve had more than usual contact with different friends from every circle.  Suddenly I’m hearing from friends who I haven’t seen or talked to in a long time.  Almost everyday, someone would text, email, or pop up in chat.  Not just the usual ‘hello, how are you’ type of contact, but we actually got caught up on each other’s lives.  Friends  seem to come out of the woods, and I’m not even the one to initiate contact most of the time.

In Friendster, I added new friends and received a comment from a dear ex-officemate whom I haven’t heard from in a long time.  It actually started when she suddenly texted me asking for advice about her sick dog.

I also heard from or ran into old friends from grade school, high school, college, and previous jobs.  These are aside from the friends in these circles who I regularly see or talk to.  Then again, there’s also increased activity in that front even though we have different schedules and we’re in different locations.  Ah, the wonders of technology.  These days, it seems like I’m always on the cellphone, landline, or instant messaging.  New friendships are also thriving this month.

So cheers to you my friends, old and new!  Here’s to the reassurance that friendships survive in spite of time, distance, and circumstance – and that new ones can come out of nothing and nowhere. 🙂

