Everyday, I pass through almost the exact spot in Glorietta where the bomb went off.  That is the route I take to get to the Ayala MRT station.  I went cold all over when I found out about the location of the blast.  What if it happened between 5:30 to 6 that afternoon instead?

Thank God also that none of my family or friends were hurt.  Well, in the case of friends, none that I know of as yet, and hope it would remain that way.

As with tragedies like this, there are so many questions in the aftermath, foremost of which is the person or group that is responsible for the attack.  Right now, two theories abound:  the usual suspects – Islamic terrorists; and the government (surprise! surprise!) that badly needs a diversion from all the controversies.

Much as I am fervently hoping that the present administration could not stomach committing such an atrocity, I just can’t shake off the niggling suspicion brought about by (in)Justice Secretary Raul Gonzalez’ (surprise! surprise! again) highly defensive response, expressed with uncalled-for irksomeness.  Then again, it’s also what comes naturally from him, so we can’t really accurately decipher anything from his statements.

As for the terrorists, I could never understand the reasoning behind their cowardly methods of war.  I guess that’s why it’s called terrorism.  They strike every now and then to sow fear and paranoia.  But we shouldn’t let them succeed.  Though I was still shaken, I refused to give in to fear and hole up somewhere.  I bravely rode the MRT, went inside another crowded mall and had dinner with a friend.  I don’t want to think of it as foolishness or thoughtlessness.  It’s called fighting back by going on with life as usual, even though it feels a little strange and uneasy knowing that just in another place nearby, countless other lives have been disrupted.

Enough of that now.  At this time, I refuse to waste my thoughts and emotions on the perpetrators and the kibitzers.  I’m focusing them instead on the innocent lives lost or changed forever.  My thoughts and prayers are with them and their families and friends.  May they rise from this, keeping their hope and faith alive.

