Just want to share something that I witnessed years ago, when I was still in my first job. For some reason, it has been popping in and out of my thoughts these past few days.

It was the usual morning rush hour traffic near the intersection of San Miguel Ave. and Shaw Boulevard in Ortigas Center. I suddenly saw this low-slung car, with the driver’s window open. The guy driving the car looked like your typical punk/rocker, with gelled up spiky hair, piercings and tattoos. His left arm was hanging out the window, a lit cigarette dangling from his fingertips. His head was slightly tilted to the side and I could just imagine brooding eyes and raised eyebrows under the dark sunglasses. Definitely not the type of guy I normally associate with. He really looked like he wouldn’t bother giving anyone the time of the day.

A beggar (don’t remember now if it was a man, a woman, or a mother and child) approached him. I watched with bated breath what he would do. To my surprise, he suddenly broke into this very nice, very kind smile and started conversing pleasantly with the beggar. From the beggar’s slightly surprised smile, I could tell that the guy wasn’t saying anything bad. Then, he reached for something in his car. I then saw him pass a sandwich to the beggar and continued conversing until the traffic light turned green. He gave one last smile and waved at the beggar before he drove away.

Oh, my. That reinforced in me the lesson of never judging people by the way they look. Here was this guy who, from all appearances, was the epitome of ‘bad boy’, yet he was the only one who was kind enough to spare some generosity (and not just the material kind) to the beggar on that busy street. I don’t know if it was just a spurt of goodness in him on an unusual day or whether he really is a gentle soul, but whoever he is, I hope life will be very kind to him, or at the very least repay him some for his kindness that day.

