It hit me yesterday morning.  I was wearing thick jeans and a long-sleeved turtleneck shirt (and even carrying a shawl) because it’s so darn cold in the building, but the heat of the sun still managed to penetrate through, quite searing my skin.  No better clue than that – summer’s here.  It’s now a few minutes before five in the afternoon and the sun is still glowing a bright yellow, something that wasn’t even the case only a week ago.

I do hate the summer humidity, but something about summer still excites me.  I know I don’t get a summer break like students do, but this year I’m especially excited about it because I am actually going on two vacation trips for the season – beginning next week.  Come Thursday, I’ll be flying off for a week in Capiz with my dad and my friend, Tintin.  Tin and myself have made it our mission to embrace the provincial Holy Week by joining the processions and all the other activities.  I also hope the bell tower would be open to visitors even if it’s Holy Week so I can take Tintin up to see the biggest bell in Asia.  It’s at the Sta. Monica Church in Pan-ay, my dad’s hometown.  Black Saturday will be a quiet day on the beach.  I’m really looking forward to that since it will be a first for me.  Baybay Beach in Roxas City is very much different from say, Boracay, so I guess it’s a safe bet that it will be a quiet day.

I’ll definitely be blogging about our trip when we get back, but for now, I just want to say, “Welcome, summer!”

