And speaking of Wall-E’s Mac references, here’s the Apple executive I most want to meet (yes, more than Steve Jobs):

Jonathan Ive, Apple's Senior Vice President for Industrial Design

Jonathan Ive, Apple's Senior Vice President of Industrial Design

I like this image showing him with one of his creations, the 2nd generation iMac.  Jonathan Ive is the man largely responsible for the design of Apple’s most innovative products: the G4 Cube, the iMac, Mac mini, iPod, and iPhone.  He won several international design awards for the Cube, which unfortunately did not do well in the market because of miscalculated pricing and marketing strategy.  The Mac mini appears to be a direct descendant of the Cube, and this time around Apple got it all right.

These are my favorite creations from Ive and his design team:

G4 Cube

G4 Cube

The original iMac

The original iMac

2nd generation iMac

2nd generation iMac

Aluminum and glass iMac

Aluminum and glass iMac

Of course it goes without saying that I love the Mac mini.  It’s the model I eventually bought.  Oh, special mention also goes to the clamshell iBook.  I lived on it and the original iMac when I worked at the graphic design agency.  Anyway, read Jonathan Ive’s profile for more about this design genius.  He’s the popular choice among Mac users to replace Steve Jobs as Apple CEO when that time comes, but that’s far-fetched in reality.  The man is notoriously private and would much rather focus on designing.  He doesn’t seem to want to be bothered by CEO concerns.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way too.  And I hope he and his team will finally give us the 12-inch aluminum Macbook. 😉

