I think I’ll be catching part of the Buglasan Festival in Dumaguete this October.  I remembered that the festival is traditionally held in October so I Googled this year’s dates, and what do you know, it coincides with our trip (from 17th-19th)!  According to an online issue of The Visayan Daily Star, this year’s festival is scheduled for October 16-23.  I haven’t been able to find a complete schedule of activities, but it’s still a bit early.

Actually, our regular traveling crew have always planned on attending major provincial festivals, and just recently, we resolved to finally make it to at least one next year.  We’re targeting the Masskara Festival in Bacolod.  However, this time around I’m going to Dumaguete with a different set of friends.  Festival participation with the regular crew will have to wait til next year.  I might not hear the end of it for not telling them about the Buglasan Festival, but I swear I really didn’t plan this trip around the festival! In fact, my initial reaction was, “Oh no, there’s a festival again!”  You see, I miss seeing a clear boulevard.  It was the Santacruzan Festival the last time we were there, so the boulevard was lined with tents.  Now THAT one was really accidental.  We didn’t even know about it until we got there.

But I’ve changed my mind.  I’m now excited about witnessing the Buglasan Festival, or at least some parts of it.

