Congratulations to the Ateneo Blue Eagles and Blue Eaglets for winning both the Senior and Junior UAAP Men’s Basketball Championships.  I was able to watch the Seniors game live on TV even though it was a work day.  Hehe, I didn’t skip work for that; it was just a great coincidence.   True, there were some controversial calls, but it cannot be denied that Ateneo was truly the better team this year.  I also didn’t like La Salle’s no-show at the awarding ceremony.  And the reason according to coach Franz Pumaren?  Nobody told them to get the trophy!  Duh!

Except for a brief spell in high school when I rooted for the Green Archers (I probably hit my head on one of the calachuchi trees), I’ve always had a soft spot for Ateneo.  Read the recent posts below and you’ll see why.  You may also see that I’ve written a number of posts about UP, my college alma mater so you’re probably wondering why I root for Ateneo in the UAAP.  Hmmm….I’ll put it this way:  I always root for Ateneo UNLESS they’re up against UP, and if the two schools ever meet in the finals, I’ll definitely be on the maroon side – win or lose.  But right now, it’s all about the Blue Eagles, so kudos to them! 🙂

